365 Days to a New Me

July 18, 2011

Have you ever thought about who you wanted to be when you had your first child? Who you wanted to be in relation to her or him, what kind of a mother/person you wanted to be. I never thought about that until a few weeks ago, and it lit a fire in my heart like nothing had before. What was it going to take for me to start making some changes in my life? What was it going to take to get me to actually start acknowledging the mistakes I’ve made, accepting them, loving them, and then moving on? Apparently it was just that. The thought of having a daughter- would I want to be the person I am right now as a mother to my future daughter. Hell no.

Ok then, lets make some changes.

I have a life coach that I’ve been seeing now about almost eight months. It was during one of our sessions that this idea was brought up. She then asked me how long I thought it would take to change into the person I wanted to be. ” A year?” That sounded right. Ok then. But that meant I had to get started. Like, actually get started on something I didn’t really know how to do, or what to do.

I take that back…I really did know what I needed to do, I was just too scared to do it. I had written the same things over and over in my journal about what I want and what I like: cooking, nutrition, fitness, culinary school, personal training. These ideas kept coming back over and over.  All I needed to do was to do something

So here I am. Taking the first step. Doing something. Wish me luck, because there is no turning back.

**Something to think about** I always worry that I’m not making progress, or that I’ve somehow taken a few steps back in this journey. Even though those steps may feel like “backward” steps, they’re actually necessary for our own journey. Think about a time when you’ve felt like you fell back and may have beat yourself up over it… Try to accept it and let it go

One Response to “365 Days to a New Me”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

