Couch to 5k?

July 20, 2011

So here’s the plan. There’s a 5k on August 21 (The 2011 Bay Vista Run) at Coyote Point Park. Two nights ago I thought I needed a goal- something to give me that push to get me going back on a workout routine. Something to make me feel good, and something I could look forward to. I still haven’t signed up.  BUT, I did my first “Couch to 5K Running Plan Workout” tonight (as I completely put it off last night) and basically murdered myself. I forgot to actually look at the plan before I did the workout, so it looks like I skipped to week 2, which is good because I only have 4 1/2 weeks… and this is a 6 week plan. And I did 30 minutes, instead of 20. It was death. Pure, no oxygen-im-a-sweaty-mess-death. But I did it. And then I had guacamole, chips, and some frozen yogurt for dinner.

 

Best Basic Quac!

2 ripe avocados ( i dont know why I specify ripe… but for those of you who just might buy rotten, or not so ripe avocados… make sure they’re ripe)

1 lime

salt, pepper

red onion

organic cherry tomatoes

garlic

1) Take your avocados out of the skin and into a bowl. Sprinkle a generous amount of salt and a few dashes of pepper

2) Take the lime and roll it around on the counter (to release the juices). Then cut in half and squeeze about a half of the lime (if it is a huge lime, 1/2 is plenty… if its a tiny one, you may need a little more)

3) Take 1 large or 2 small cloves of garlic and finely chop.

Mash this all together to a nice (not too chunky, not too smooth) –> I do this because you will need to taste your guac, and you do not want to over mix. Add additional salt or lime juice as needed in this stage.

4) Then chop up about 1/8-1/4 cup of red onion. Throw that in

5) Chop up about 6-10 cherry tomatoes.

7) Blend these ingredients together (notice I did not say mix… you want to fold these ingredients in as to not mash the tomatoes or onion.)

Here is where it gets fun. This is my basic recipe. You can take this guac wherever you want to go from here. My sister loves a little cumin in her guac. About a teaspoon or so is perfect for this recipe. You can throw in some bacon (yum!) some goat cheese, jalapenos, cilantro, green onions, whatever you want! But try this basic recipe, you’ll love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

