Lunch Balance

July 21, 2011

A quick post about how proud I am for my lunch choice today.

Lets begin with breakfast:

I made some steel cut oats in the microwave that didn’t turn out as great as I had imagined. I added some sun warrior protein powder, flax seeds, almond milk, and finished it with a scoop of peanut butter and a sprinkle of chocolate chips. Its not that it tasted bad (it tasted really good), I just wasn’t feeling it this morning.  Plus it took me 3 hours to drink my synnergy.

So lunch was a little late today as I had an appointment during my usual lunch hour. During the appointment, all I could think about was Chipotle. Carnitas specifically. But on the drive back, I thought about my workout. What time it was right then. What I ate for breakfast. What would I eat for dinner. All of these factors, and a Carnitas burrito bowl seemed awfully heavy to eat less than 3 hours before my 5k training run.

So I pulled into Subway and got a 6 inch turkey on wheat with avocado, swiss, a wee bit of mayo, and some delish veggies. Not only did it hit the spot, it was so good, and gave me the energy I needed. (not heavy in the least bit).  Definitely made up for my breakfast flop.

Leave a Reply

