Sunday Family Dinner

July 25, 2011

As my sister, brother, and I all live at home right now, we’ve all been “assigned” jobs… my sister folds laundry and does the dishes. My brother does a lot of grilling, taking out the trash, cleaning his room. And I cook. Sunday family dinners. Last week, I made my “sauce”. Its a veal and pork bologense and it will rock your world. I’ll tell you more about that in another post.

Tonight, everyone wanted steak and my dad wanted ravolis. So I decided to put my spin on the meal. I made some bruschetta, a marsala sauce for the steak, and an olaliberry cobbler.

The marsala sauce I stole from Giada (because shes amazing) and the bruschetta I made up on my own. See Giada’s recipe here, and here is my bruschetts recipe:

Amazingly Easy Bruschetta:

1 Loaf Sourdough

4 Roma Tomatoes

Fresh Basil

5 Cloves Garlic

Olive Oil

BalsamicĀ Vinegar

Salt

Freshly grated parmesan cheese

1) Slice bread into 1/2 inch slices. Place on cookie sheet and place in 400 degree oven for about 10 minute (intil slightly crispy on edges, but soft in middle)

2) Chop up tomatoes, 10-12 basil leaves, 4 of the garlic cloves

3) Pour about 1-2 table spoons of olive oil into the tomato mixture

4) Season with salt

5) Drizzle with balsalmic vinegar (maybe 1 1/2 table spoons)

4) Take the bread out of the oven. Take one clove of garlic, and rub the clove on each piece of bread. Then sprinkle the parmesan on each piece and place bread back in oven to melt bread (about 2-3 minutes)

Leave a Reply

