Blogging for Real

August 2, 2011

I’ve decided I really want to do this- there are so many bloggers out there that I absolutely love to read. They’re part of my daily routine and I cant wait to see what they have posted every day. I want to be that person, I want to look forward to sharing my daily escapades with you. The good, the bad, and the very ugly.

Which brings me to why I haven’t posted lately. Its been an ugly sort of week.  Lets begin with my 5k training…

Last week I only ran twice (and literally did not work out outside of that). When I moved to the next phase of training yesterday, that work out almost killed me. Actually almost made me puke. Which made me realize, if I really want to do this, I need to commit. I need to enjoy it and stop putting so much pressure on myself. What ends up happening is I put too much pressure and then just give up. Which is so completely counter intuitive. But its what I do- its a survival mechanism that I’ve learned and now do without even realizing it.

Which brings me to my second topic. I need to move out. I love my parents, I love my family. Our house is amazing, and I have a pretty nice set up. But I don’t have myself. I don’t have the ability to do whatever I want, because I live under their roof. I have to constantly remind myself I’m 26. I’m an adult, but I’m living like a child. Checking in, following the rules (which I should do because I’m living in my parent’s house), and cowering to my parents “wants” and “needs” for me. For example- I told my mom I wanted to go to cancun for a week, by myself. Both of my parents told me they didn’t want me to do that because they felt it wasn’t safe. Ok I thought. Then I’d like to go to our house in the country for a week. alone. My mom wants to go with me, and my response is, “but i wanna go alone….” whispering, as my voice gets softer and softer.  I’m never going to fully grow up if I keep doing what they prefer for me. So I’m looking for an apartment…

Next on the agenda. I don’t know why I havent written about this sooner, but I enrolled in the Institute of Integrative Nutrition. Yay. I’m really excited about this. I’ve been debating about what I wanted to do in nutrition, fitness, cooking for a while now. And this finally felt like the right first step. Its a year long program where I will be learning about many different dietary theories. When I graduate I will be a holistic nutritional counselor. Pretty cool huh? Maybe by then I will have enough guts to enroll at the Natural Gourmet Institute in New York. But we’ll see.

I think that’s about all the updates I have for now. I will be posting some recent recipes that won the approval of my family, as well as 5k training updates, and life updates.  Thank you for sticking it through this post. I promise they will get better. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

