Finding Support

August 9, 2011

Last night I experienced my first women’s group called Thrive. It is lead by my life coach, with about 8 women. I’ve been seeing my LC  for about 8 months, so when she invited me to her women’s group, I was honored. It is by invitation only and meets about once a month. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect.  I’ve done some group counseling with women in the past and I really loved it. But I knew this would be different. More personal, and much deeper. And I was right. To be in a room with the one person you trust implicitly, and 8 other women to support you, have compassion for you, and who are going through things just like you was an experience I don’t think I’ll ever forget.

The meeting began with a guided meditation where I think the purpose was to find yourself in the space, open up your mind and heart and discover what it is you wanted to share with the group. Whether it is something you need support with, something you need to get off your chest, or nothing at all. Just needing to listen to everyone else. [I had a really difficult time concentrating during this. My mind was everywhere but with the group. I fought it for a while, but eventually just let it go. And where did it go? Cooking. Recipes. I came up with 3 new salad dressing recipes that I am dying to try out. Interesting though huh?]

I was hesitant and worried that I wouldn’t be able to fully open up in the meeting. First because there were 6 women I had never met. Second, I felt like I had nothing to talk about before I arrived. And third, my cousin is also in the group. I was worried for her, worried for me. And I wanted to make sure we would both be ok talking and sharing with everyone, knowing that were family and were sharing secrets that we don’t know about each other.

It was actually her sharing that broke down my walls, opened the door, and let the emotions release. I don’t think I’ve had an emotional release in months, one that was for myself that actually transferred energy, making a difference in what I was feeling. Part of me felt horrible for being grateful for what she is going through because it allowed me to not feel so alone.  What she is struggling with right now, are some of my biggest fears.

So to you, my beautiful cousin: You are strong, you are brave, and you are not alone. I love you and you will get through this. Thank you for being you. And thank you for supporting me.

Leave a Reply

