My First 5k!

August 22, 2011

I completed my first 5k yesterday- The Bay Vista Run at Coyote Point.   As I didn’t quite get to running 3 miles straight before running the 5k, I was up to running 2 1/4.  I felt pretty good Friday and Saturday- I ran Friday, did my own sort of interval workout (it was actually pretty fun… see the workout at the end of this post) and rested on Saturday. I woke up Sunday morning earlier than my alarm, and was totally nervous. Butterflies took over my stomach. It reminded me of how I use to feel waking up on tournament days when I played volleyball. Same nervous feeling that usually proved beneficial because I played my heart out. I hoped that this would do the same. And it did 🙂

I was able to run 2 1/2 miles straight at a 10 minute mile pace (which was my goal for the run). It was awesome. Until I hit the hill. The steady climb sort of killed me. My feet began aching, I could feel blisters forming on my big toes and arches. So I told myself, “Its ok. Just walk for a minute and then get going again” So I did, but the hill kept going. I knew if I stopped I wouldn’t be able to run again and I would lose my pace. So I ran- each step hurting more than the last, but I ran.  Coming around the bend with the finish line in sight, I saw my parents, my sister and her boyfriend cheering, clapping. It felt good. Right before I crossed the finish line I got cut off by some dude, probably running the 10k, but it scared the crap out of me, and took a good 3 seconds off my time- asshole. 😉

As I crossed the finish line, I heard “Finishing in great time is  Shelley Signori from Hillsborough” holy crap- she said my name. It was pretty cool. I finished in 33 minutes (give or take) and kept mostly to my 10 minute mile. It felt good, I made it to my goal. And my feet were killing me- three blisters (one blood blister) but it was totally worth it.

I’ve already signed up for another one in a few weeks- with the goal of running the entire thing and hitting a 10 minute mile pace or better.  I’ll keep up with the rest of my training plan (which has about 2 more weeks to it to run a 5k) and let you know how that goes.

Here is the treadmill workout I did on Friday:

Incline set to 1.0-2.0

5 Min warm up: brisk walk on 4.0

Run 1 mile at a moderate pace/jog (I ran at 5.6-5.8 on the treadmill)

Walk 1/4 mile (4.0)

Run 3/4 mile at moderate to fast pace (I ran at 5.8)

Walk 1/4 mile

Run 1/2 mile  at fast pace (6.0-6.5)

Walk 1/4 mile

Sprint 1/4 mile (7.0-8.0)

Cool Down (10 minutes or so)

Total: Around 50 minutes and 4 miles

Leave a Reply

