A Much Needed Rest Day…

August 24, 2011

Yesterday I took the night off from working out to relax, eat some good food, and meet someone who is interested in purchasing my car. The meet and greet went pretty well, although she is trying to really negotiate. But I’m sticking to my guns. I know what my car is worth and the condition its in. So if this one doesn’t work out, there is someone else out there who will want my car 🙂

Resting last night was the right decision. After the 5k on Sunday and a full body strength workout on Monday, my  body was screaming at me. Motrin, tea, water- nothing helped. So when I was exhausted at 9, and ready for bed I knew that’s what my body needed. I think I was asleep by 10:30 and up at 7:30. A solid 9 hours of sleep, and honestly I could have slept more. 

But I woke up and made some oatmeal, made a big salad for lunch, and grabbed a Cosmic Cranberry Synnergy (my mom is so good to me, I mention something I like, and it magically appears in the fridge the next day…pretty neato).

After eating about half of my oatmeal this morning I was pretty full. But two hours later, I was craving protein. There are some days that my body just  needs more protein, and the oatmeal just didnt cut it (even with a scoop of protein powder). So instead of finishing my bowl of oatmeal, I dove into my lunch. A tuna salad concoction I came up with over mixed greens, tomatoes, and celery. All I needed was a couple of bites and I was set. This was about an hour and a half ago, and I’m still not hungry.

So this is good, each day I’m gathering more and more information about which foods are best for my body, what exercises energize me rather than kill me, and how much rest I really need. I know this journey to my “feel great weight” is going to take a while, but I’m in in for the long haul, for the rest of my life. 

Tonight’s workout is a long run… my goal is 2.5 miles without stopping. We’ll see how it goes!

Hope you’re all having a great day!

Leave a Reply

