Stay hydrated my friends

September 20, 2011

Lets lighten this up a bit, shall we?

I apologize for the heavy post last night. It was very long and very raw. But it was very therapeutic. So I’m glad I got all of that off my chest and into the blog world for everyone to see 😉

I wanted to briefly touch on the subject of water. We all know we need to drink it. Most of us know how many ounces or cups we should all be drinking. But water can be so plain, boring, dull. It can be more of a hassle than enjoyable to get in our 8 glasses, or 80 ounces of water. So some of us decide to flavor our water. There are many products out there now advertising their “calorie free” and “sugar free” “healthy” flavors… but what are they really made of?

I’m holding a little oval shaped bottle of Peach Tea flavored liquid called Mio. I found it at Target, grabbed it without reading the label, and threw it in my basket. I put a few squirts in my water- tastes pretty much like sweet peach tea. And then decided to read the ingredients:  propulene glycol? Red 40? Potassium sorbate? “Contains less than 2% of natural flavor” Really. And in big bold letters, “CONTAINS 0% JUICE”. Excellent. So I’m drinking peach flavored chemicals. Sounds delish.

When looking for flavors to add to your water, read the label. See what’s actually in that little flavor machine. Better yet, create your own flavored water. Its really easy and you have total control of what ingredients go in there. My favorites are of course lemon and lime, mint and cucumber, and frozen berries. Yep, frozen berries. Take your water bottle and put about 1/4 cup frozen fruit at the bottom. Add a little bit of water (just enough to cover) and put your water bottle in the freezer over night. The flavor of the fruit will infuze that little bit of water. So the next day, fill up your bottle and enjoy delicious (and natural!) flavored water all day. If you have a bit of a sweet tooth, you can always add in a few drops of liquid stevia or raw sugar. Even a little honey or agave will do the trick.

That’s all I have to say about that… until next time, stay hydrated my friends.

Shelley

Leave a Reply

