Me vs. the Scale

October 5, 2011

Hi Everyone! Long time no update 🙂 A lot has been going on lately- nothing too major. Just a lot of work, training, catching up with friends and spending time with the bf. My boot campers are on their Week 4 and are looking stronger, toned, and more energetic. We’ve been working the TRX into our routine lately, challenging their bodies like they never have before. I always love have a group of people working on their biceps, all in a line. Its a straight up gun show, and I absolutely love it. Next time I’m going to try to get a picture of them all- you’d be impressed… and a little terrified. 😉

One thing I wanted to talk about today is my own progress. I’ve been working out with the girls, following the schedule I created for them. I’ve been working out on average 5-6 days a week, 3 days of circuit training/strength and 2-3 days of cardio (which vary between incline training, intervals, and nice longer runs), moderaly watching my diet. And by that I mean trying to keep it in balance- nothing restrictive, no calorie counting or measuring. Just eating foods that I know feel good, and eating foods that I’m craving.

However- I stepped on the scale this morning, and my weight is EXACTLY the same as when I started 4 weeks ago. 166.6.  Now I know what you’re thinking. Maybe my scales broken?  I thought so too, so I hopped on my sisters scale, just to be sure. Nope, same weight. I thought- ok I havent peed yet. Lets try that. 166.4. Really.

My scale is pretty awesome (when it tells me the weight I want to see) and has all of these functions that help track your progress. One of them is your body fat %. In 4 weeks, the scale says it has gone down 2%. My clothes don’t feel dramatically different. I still feel like my stomach is huge, but I do feel myself getting stronger.

One of my good friend and I created a push up challenge a little over a year ago. That challenge helped get me to a place of strength and tone that I had never been before. So I thought I would try that again.  In 4 weeks, I’ve gone from struggling to complete 10 push ups in a row, to now completing 15.  Its a start, and it is progress. My goal is to be able to do 50, because I know my body is capable.

But the frustration still sits within me. What more can I do? What should I look to change now? What am I doing wrong?

Its interesting- as I’m writing this, I’m realizing that losing 2% body fat is a big deal. Yet I’m still focused on the number on the scale. So I’m asking all of you- what do you do when you feel frustrated about your progress? Any suggestions or advice?

Leave a Reply

