In need of a little ventilation…

October 11, 2011

Good morning everyone!

It’s around 10:30 in the morning and I’m at my full time job as a sales rep/account manager. This morning began at 5:00am not so bright, but very early with a 5:45 boot camp with 5 amazing ladies. This morning was really over cast, misty, and muggy, so the sweat was not in short supply lol. The boot campers did awesome this morning, powering through a tough workout without any music (my ipod dock decided not to wake up this morning). Usually on my way home after our intense workout, I stop at the bucks or Peets to grab whatever coffee drink I’m craving and then head home to get ready for work.

This morning was a little different. I wasn’t craving coffee, and I didn’t feel fully awake. I got home, showered, made myself a pretty big breakfast of brown rice, black beans, scrambled eggs and salsa. Watched a little news, finished getting ready, and realized that I was still really hungry. I made a gluten free waffle with some peanut butter and then headed to work. As I parked I realized I had about 10 minutes before I had to go in, so I closed my eyes… and completely passed out until 9:30. Car partially on, radio on, still with my seat belt on. I was exhausted. The kind of exhaustion that even a quadruple shot americano couldn’t cure. I realied that the 4 1/2 hours of sleep I got last night wasn’t enough, not even close.

I’ve been having a tough time lately not seeing or feeling any progress with my body. This is the 5th week of our boot camp series and I have yet to weigh in again. But my clothes aren’t feeling any looser, my appetite hasn’t shrunk (its gotten more intense!) and I’m starting to feel like I’m hitting a wall. I’m trying to listen to my body, creating some balance while still keeping up wth my schedule. On Friday J and I both got 90 minute massages and an hour in a hot tub to help our aching bodies. I was hoping this would help repair my muscles, re-energizing me for my next few weeks or workouts. And really, all it did was show me how sore I really was.

Now that I’m in the habit of working out almost every day, it doesn’t feel right not to do something. And when I say something, I mean a strength session or a good run. Stretching doesn’t feel like a workout right now. Anything that doesn’t totally push my body doesn’t feel like I’m doing enough. Its a frustrating feeling, knowing how hard I’m working, and not seeing or feeling any changes. I know that I’m not getting enough sleep most nights (hello 4 1/2 hours) which needs to change. I’m sure I need to change my diet (in some way or another) and maybe I need to reformat my workouts. I dunno. But its all frustrating. Not so frustrating that I want to give up, the kind of frustrating that makes me want to push harder. Is this a plateau? Am I doing something wrong? So many ideas and questions are circulating in my brain and I’m not sure where to start.

2 Responses to “In need of a little ventilation…”


  1. I have always been a big proponent to listening to what your body is telling you. If I can’t sleep, I don’t sleep. If I’m not hungry, I don’t eat, so on and so on. I think the main issue here is to get enough sleep when you can, especially in today’s society, where it seems the term rest is for the wicked has become the mantra. I for one have always been a fan for the good old fashion nap. Rest is needed for your body to completely recuperate. You most likely will see the results you want until you allow your body to do so. You want to see change but aren’t giving your body the chance to change.


    • You are so right 🙂 When I get more sleep, everything feels better. I’m more focusing during my workouts, not as hungry throughout the day, and I am able to recover faster. I’m still working on getting more sleep during the week (and trying to keep a decent sleep schedule) but it is definitely helping. Thank you for your comment Ronald!


Leave a Reply

