After the thrill is gone…

July 30, 2012

How do you handle real life after a raw/vegan  cleanse? I have no idea.

I knew before embarking on this cleanse that I would be successful if I had the tools to get me through each day and hard core support from Sasha and the people closest to me. I needed the meals to be provided for me, I needed my schedule laid out… I just needed to not think about it. To just do it. And that’s what I did. It took that stress out because I knew what was coming for the day, and I knew what I had to do. I didn’t have many options  so I ate what I was given. And the plan worked. The cleanse worked. So now that I’m off of it, what do I do?

Focus on the determination and mental toughness I had last week, and keep it with me. There’s no denying that what I did was really hard for me. I now know that I need to add some protein to my diet and find ways to do that while keeping the rest of my diet in balance. After this weekend, I also know that wheat/yeast and I do not get along. Hello beer, double double, and pizza… you think I went a little nuts? Yeah, I’d say so.  I’m bloated, my stomach is upset, I’ve had some small cystic breakouts. No bueno at all. So today’s all about going back to what worked. A mostly raw/vegan diet, with some added protein. Eggs, fish, chicken. To be successful that this, I need to set myself up like I want to succeed. Make the right choices, stock my kitchen with the right food, be present with my goals and choices, and remember this is about my health.
So this week is sort of like a trial week. I want to keep to my diet while adding in some protein and see how I do. In order to do this, I need to be able to make some awesome food. So, I ask you- what are your favorite raw and/or vegan cookbooks out there? Any raw/vegan blogs that you love that would help me along this process? Any recipes that you love and would like to share? Let me know!!
** On a side note… I went to the Brad Paisley concert with some friends this weekend, where coors lite was consumed by all. Some of the best pictures came out of that night and I wanted to share a few of my faves…

My brother, me, and the bf 🙂

My faves- Steve and Libby

Probably the coolest pic of the night- thank you Libby for getting this one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

