Aaaand I’m broke

August 7, 2012

So the boy and I ran some errands the other day to prep my meals for the week so we took a trip to the Whole Foods. I’ve done some minor shopping at the WF, grabbing a few items here and there, a Kombucha, bar of soap, occasional bottle of wine, etc. But I’ve never done my major grocery shopping there. Until that day. The day Whole Foods drained my bank account.

You might be wondering what all I bought and how much I spent. I bought a ton of food. 90% produce, 5% bulk items, and 5% cool stuff (ie THIS neato bag!!) –> Two awesome things about this bag: #1, its purple. #2, it keeps my goods cold. Love it!

(Did you notice how I totally distracted you from how much I spent…. I’m gonna do it again!!!)
Anyway, I came to Whole Foods prepared with a list of a thousand produce items, with the intention of making a few recipes I found in these cookbooks:

(Raw Food Real World by Matthew Kenney and Sarma Melngailis and RAWvolution by Matt Amsden)

Here is what the menu looked like:

Grilled Salmon–> the easiest most delicious, and versatile salmon you’ll ever make!

Jasmine Rice–> w/ a vege boullion for added flavor!

(Raw) Mango Chutney

(Raw) Corn and Tomato Salad

Green Beans –> boiled in vege broth, lightly salted

And here is the final product!

My plate!

The boy’s dinner!

Turned out pretty darn good, AND I have food for the week (and hopefully the next two weeks…) Btw- white plates make your food look (and some how taste) so much better. I highly recommend getting a set, especially if you like to entertain. Looks pretty fancy huh? I got mine at Khols, Food Network baby.

Oh and I spent $250 at the WF. Toodles!!

2 Responses to “Aaaand I’m broke”

  1. trialsinfood Says:

    your menu looks yummy! totally worth the $250. we bought lunch at whole foods once…2 sandwiches, 2 small salads and a drink cost us $30.


    • Thanks! Yeah it really is worth it to get fresh, organic foods and prepare meals like that. Next on my list is a watermelon gazpacho! We’ll see how that goes ๐Ÿ™‚ This morning I made a tomato zucchini soup too! I’ll post on that later ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

