Creating my Cleanse

November 5, 2012

So lately I haven’t been living a life that I’m the most proud of. I’ve had nights full of binging, eating instead of working out, staying up way later than I should, etc. Putting work, family, friends, my dogs before my health. Making up every excuse in the world to not eat healthy, to not workout, and to not take care of myself. And of course, as all things do, its reached a pivotal point… where I can continue on this road and ignore the feelings in my gut and heart, or make a drastic change to re-align with my true self.

I know this may all sound trite and easy to fix. But for some people (like myself) its been a lifelong battle. Going through stages of keeping up a schedule for workouts, eating clean, fighting the temptations and cravings. And then fall off that bandwagon and have complete disregard for my diet, give in to most cravings, make other things a priority over my workouts. Its two opposite lifestyles that I’ve been living my whole life. And I’m tired of it. Really tired of it.

I read fitness and health blogs on a daily basis. I read about people who live paleo, raw, vegan, who’ve once struggled with their weight and now live a healthy lifestyle. And every day I think how the hell do they do it? I’ve done it, for a short period of time. I’ve even had long term success. But how do these people actually make this their lifestyle? Dedication? Determination? Sheer power of will?

Whatever it is, it all beings with the first step. My first step is a plan. I know I’ve done this before and talked about it before, but I love cleanses. They’re mentally tough, physically challenging, and they work. I’ve had success in the past on a cleanse. What I didn’t succeed with was the 8th day. The day after the cleanse. How do I eat? How do I go forward and keep up with these amazing changes?

What I’ve realized is that it takes longer than seven days to break a habit and longer than seven days to change hard wired behaviors. And it’s not something to beat myself up over. It just is. So this time around, since I’m a planner, I’m planning this cleanse out for the next 30 days. I figure, 30 days is a good amount of time to cleanse my body, my mind, break some old habits, create some new habits, and make it a lifestyle. Obviously the goal is to continue this after the end of the 30 days, but my hope is that by then I would have to plan out the next 30 days. Maybe a week by week plan? Something that keeps me on track but not obsessive.

This blog helped me stay accountable during my last two cleanses. So I will continue blogging through this process as well. My plan for this week is to get my research done today and tomorrow on what I’m going to eat during the 7 day raw/vegan cleanse. Today and tomorrow I will be grocery shopping and prepping what I can so that I can start on Thursday. I will also be using the Arise and Shine Cleanse 7 products during the first 7 days. Once this cleanse is over I will be following the Whole 30 program, which will add in protein and cooked foods. There will be an easing in process that I have yet to determine, but this is the general idea.

I appreciate you all who have continued to read this blog and support me through every journey I go on. Stay tuned for more updates!

Leave a Reply

