I had a plan, and then life happened…

April 25, 2013

I was suppose to write a post yesterday on how to navigate Costco Whole30 style, and clearly that didn’t happen. Lots going on over in my neck of the woods, so I apologize about that. And work has been crazy busy the last week or so with 24/7 projects so I’m a wee bit tired.

Nonetheless- lets get back to Costco. Oh Costco. You are like disneyland on a Saturday in July. Home Depot during a lawn and garden sale. Ikea on a Saturday afternoon. Crowded, uncomfortable, and just a straight up hot mess. But you have upped your game there sir. With organic ground beef, wild caught shrimp, and organic free range eggs. You make it easy to stock up on the foods I need. And here’s how I did it:

1) Go with a list: I took the Whole30 Grocery Shopping Guide, Good Meat Guide, Pantry Stocking Guide, and Grocery List to help me with this. I starred what I knew I wanted to find, highlighted the key words (organic, free range, grass fed, etc) and listed them all in seperate sections (fresh meat, fresh seafood, pantry items, frozen items) so my list was easy to navigate, and therefore Costco was easy to navigate.

2) Go during “off peak” hours: My costco closes at 8:30 on weeknights, so Steven and I stopped in around 7:30. Although it was crowded, we were able to navigate at our own pace and got in and out in less than an hour.

3) Know that you are buying in bulk: When you look at the price tag and see $26 for 1 pack of beef dont flip. Look at the total pounds, and price per pound. I found that most of what I bought was cheaper than buying at my local Safeway or Molly Stones.

4) Stock up on freezer bags: Costco’s got em. In like a pack of 400,000. You’ll never run out.

5) Check out the frozen meats and seafood: I found packs of organic chicken breasts and wild caught shrimp. The shrimp was pricey (Whole Foods is cheaper) but the chicken breast was alright.

6) Check out the frozen vegetables too. Huge packs of mized vegetables.

7) Buy pantry items in bulk: Organic olive oil, coconut oil, nuts, organic crushed tomatoes, organic tomato paste, and a buttload of spices. All pretty cheap.

8) Dont be tempted by the Moose Munch. Its there. Its delicious. But its NOT WORTH IT. Except for maybe in December. When it comes in large packs of two. With Dark Chocolate. I dont go to Costco during the holidays for this reason. I will eat the entire bag during my shopping trip and have to be carted out myself with my frozen shrimp and olive oil.

9) This one probably sounds stupid and we’ve all heard it before. But don’t go to Costco hungry. Go after you’ve eaten a meal. With the food court there and the free tastings, temptations are EVERYWHERE. Its much easier to stay on track with a full and satisfied stomach. That I can promise you.

So these are my basic tips. I highly recommend using Costco for your basic protein needs and stocking up for a few weeks. It makes creating meals that much easier. The worst thing is following a new diet, with no food in the house, starving. Keeping options in the house will keep you on track. I’m only on day 5 of Whole30, but im on day 12 of no grains, no legumes, no dairy, no sugar, no alcohol. And its working 🙂

Leave a Reply

