Since this is about being honest…

April 29, 2013

I had some alcohol this weekend. And cake. And possibly a little cupcake. EEK!

It’s ok though. It really is. Although I’m doing the Whole30, I’ve already decided that this is a lifestyle I want to live. So I’m going to do this for as long as I want to. So there really is no 30 day goal, rather trying to figure out how to make this my life while still enjoying the things I really love every once in a while. Which happen to be cake and alcohol. Wine to be specific. And Margaritas.

Here’s what I’ve figured out so far: cake (aka wheat and sugar) don’t make me feel good. Alcohol (margaritas made with agave tequila, splash of triple sec, and lime juice) don’t affect me too bad, except for make me feel hungrier after I’ve finished eating. Wine I’m not sure about because it was consumed in conjunction with the cake. More test to come on that one.

Sunday I was back to my whole30 plan. Lots of water, protein, veggies, and fruit. Along with a mud run with some of my workout buddies. Tons of fun. Today’s eats are also back to normal:

Breakfast was a spinach and mushroom scramble with 3 eggs. Followed with a blended coffee.

Lunch was a big salad from Mollie Stones with grilled chicken and tons of veggies.

Snack will be some strawberries and cashews.

Tonight Steven is making his famous taco salad for dinner which I am very excited about. I will make this whole30 approved by making some swaps. For example: instead of a tortilla or rice as my base, I’m going to bake up a sweet potato and build from there. I will have all the regular fixings: lettuce, tomato, olives, guacamole, organic salsa, and ground beef. It will be delicious no doubt. And I think the sweetness from the sweet potato will actually be really good with the spicy savory elements of the rest of the ingredients. I will report back tomorrow.

I hope you are all surviving this heat. And yes 91 is HOT where I live. Have a great rest of your Monday!

Leave a Reply

