Whole30 taco salad and need some hair advise…

April 30, 2013

Morning everyone! How are you all doin?

So before I get into my delicious taco salad from last night I have a serious hair issue. Sunday I did a mud run and got mud all through my hair. I rinsed it at the event, and have washed it 3 times since. My hair STILL feels like straw. I don’t know what to do… any suggestions?

Ok back to the taco salad. I love taco salad. But I don’t love the way rice and tortillas make me feel. BUT I do love the comfort of carbs. (Yep, still dealing with the cravings of mashed potatoes and cake. ) So I thought why not build this taco salad on top of a sweet potato? Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients:
1 medium sweet potato
1 package ground turkey
1 package ground beef
Organic Salsa
2 avocados (for guac- see recipe below)
Lettuce
tomato
Chopped garlic
Salt, pepper, garlic powder
Taco seasoning

I first cooked one medium size sweet potato in the microwave for about 6 minutes and then finished it in the oven, wrapped in foil.

I browned up some ground turkey and ground beef (so that I had lots of leftovers). For the turkey I used some natural taco seasoning, and beef I seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

I made up a batch of guacamole: 2 avocados, 1 chopped garlic clove, lime juice, salt, pepper, cumin.

And then we build:

In a large bowl I took half of the sweet potato and mashed it up with a fork for my base. I then layered ground turkey and ground beef (about 4-6 ounces) on the sweet potato. About 1/2 cup of guacamole, 1/2 cup salsa, chopped tomato and lettuce.

I’m telling you, this meal was huge. I couldn’t finish it all.

IMG_20130429_200429_051

And the best part is that I have leftovers for today, and enough sweet potato left to make these tuna cakes from It Starts With Food.

Tonight I will be grilling up a bunch of chicken thighs and stir-frying a few packages of frozen veggies for the rest of the week.

Tomorrow I will post an update on the stockpile from Costco and show you how I’m making it last. Have a great rest of your day!

2 Responses to “Whole30 taco salad and need some hair advise…”

  1. Jaz Says:

    Try coconut oil for your hair! Wash and then leave it in for as long as possible before rinsing. You can get it a trader joes! It’s in a jar – like a mayo jar – just scoop with your hand (make sure its a lil warmed up – so it’s not so waxy) and slather in all over your head – lol


Leave a Reply

