How do I stay on track?

May 15, 2013

Today flew by, holy moly. Crazy busy at work, leading my trainer’s class today, training my own client, and then making a quick dinner. Sheesh.

I’ve had a lot of people ask me how I stay track with my diet. The idea of following a paleo/whole30 type diet does seem difficult to most people. It seemed really hard to me before I tried it. But I continue to tell people that not only is it a piece of cake now, but its the best decision I’ve made in a really long time. And it’s changed my life. Here’s how I do it:

It may seem expensive to eat so much protein and fresh produce, but with some thoughtful planning and investigating, it really isn’t that expensive.  I buy most of my meat and seafood from Costco. I’m not sure about Costco’s other than my two local ones, but mine are carrying more organic, free range, wild caught meats and fishes. If you have a big enough freezer, you can stock up. I’m still working on my Costco run and that was about 3 weeks ago.

I keep a ton of frozen vegetables on hand. I keep an eye out for deals at Safeway and Target. If need be I stop at Trader Joes and Mollie Stones to pick up some as well. Every time frozen vegetables go on sale I stock up. This takes making a quick trip to the store at least once a week to make sure I have some good produce on hand and frozen vegetables.   Yesterday I went to Safeway and bought some staples: 2 containers of organic strawberries, bananas, organic orange juice, 2 dozen eggs, fresh italian parsley, green onions, swiss cheese (for the stevenator), 6 bags of frozen vegetables, organic romaine, carrots, and celery. Total cost was around $40.

Once you have the food purchasing down, now comes the cooking. I try to do a big “cook-up” once a week. Every week I try to vary the protein options so I don’t get bored. This week my schedule didn’t allow for me to do my usual cook up on Sunday or Monday night. Sunday night I pulled out a pack of organic ground beef, organic ground turkey, and an all natural duck breast (all from Costco) to thaw for my cook up. The meat didn’t actually thaw out by Monday night, so we dipped into our reserves and made a meal out of frozen veggies and frozen all natural chicken apple sausages.

Tonight I had some more time and baked eight chicken thighs. I also opened up the duck breast and cut some up for a “duck breast scramble” tomorrow morning. Pretty excited.

Tomorrow night I’m planning on making some paleo meatballs (out of the ground beef and turkey), whole30 marinara,  and if I can get my hands on a spaghetti squash I’ll make that as well.  This will be enough for lunch, dinners, and snacks for the rest of the week.

Last week we cooked up a big pack of rock fish (also from Costco) and had that all week along with Salmon Cakes, turkey burgers, and chicken thighs.

As far as vegetables: salads are my go to for lunch and having ready-made protein makes it easy to make a great meal. I like to have bell peppers, tomatoes, carrots, celery, fresh herbs, cucumbers  and any other fun vegetables on hand to make the salads interesting.  Our fruit bowl varies from week to week. But the three staples we have every week are bananas, strawberries, and fresh pineapple. Steven likes to make smoothies some days so the strawberries and bananas are perfect for him. The fresh pineapple is insanely good right now (from Mollie Stones), so we cut up one a week as well. Right now we have some apples on hand, some weeks we have grapes, other weeks melon.

Keep your options varied, watch for sale prices, and be flexible. Being flexible allow me to save money where I can on fresh produce and allows us to try different foods.

I know this was a lot of information, so if you have any questions please let me know. I love sharing whats worked for me and help others succeed at this. Because its totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

