53 days… is it enough time?

May 28, 2013

Happy Tuesday everyone! God I love three-day weekends. Especially Memorial Day… its pretty much my favorite family vacation weekend of the year. My family and our significant others go up to our house near Yosemite, go out on the lake, bbq, play a little drunken wiffle ball. So much fun.  This year was no different. We tend to have a tradition of getting in your face drunk on Saturday night, and I was the lucky winner this year. Go me.  All over a heated (and hilarious) debate started my Don Signori. His question was, ” how can you eat a pound of food and gain more than a pound?” Oh man did we come up with some good answers… and the theories got better and better as the empty bottles of wine accumulated in the middle of the table. It was a lot of fun!

So you’re probably asking what’s in 53 days? Welp, that would be my sister’s wedding. I have my bridesmaid dress that I havent tried on since we ordered it, and really need to do so. I’m nowhere near my goal weight, and I’m feeling pretty discouraged. I fell off my Whole30 train, ate some (delicious) but terrible for me foods and drinks. And now I’m back at ground zero. Or at least it feels that way. So I made a decision last night. Today is day 1 of 53. I have 53 days (or 7 weeks and 4 days) to get to my goal of losing 10-15lbs. To stick to my diet, to exercise 6 days a week, sleep 7-8 hours a night, drink lots of water, and hopefully not die in the process.  Theoretically this is doable. If I can lose 1-2lbs every week, I will hit my goal of 10lbs no problem. But I have to stick to my diet. I have to not eat the cake, have the margarita, or that piece of bread at dinner. I have to watch my portions, drink enough water, get in enough exercise.

Here’s how I’m going to do it:

1) Actually do my cook-up every week. Whatever it takes. Make the time and just freaking do it 🙂

2) Add in more cardio, specifically HIIT intervals on my (still broken, but hopefully soon-to-be-fixed) treadmill

3) SLEEP: this is huge for me. I’m a mess when I don’t get enough sleep. I’m already blonde, so this is devastating  <– I once drove past my office three times due to not enough sleep…

4) Get the junk out of the house, and keep it out! Honestly, we don’t really have that much “junk” since I’ve been doing the Whole30, but I gotta keep the chocolate chips out and sour patch kids.

5) Minimize eating out: Steven and I like to eat out, especially during the week. It’s easy, convenient, and were both so tired by 8pm that Chipotle sounds pretty good.  I just need to be smarter about this. Eating out doesn’t have to be a disaster, nor does it have to be the only thing I eat. I can get chipotle and add in some stuff I have at home. Or get the protein style burger, and have a sweet potato on the side.

All of this sounds so easy. Now I just have to do it. This blog is going to keep me accountable. It has to, so I’m asking all of you (the few that read my little blog) to support me in this as well.  Hold me accountable when I don’t post by the end of the day, ask me how the previous day went, and make me tell you what I’ve been eating!

I appreciate all of your support and time you take out to read this funny little blog of mine. Until tomorrow, enjoy the rest of your day back from vacation!

Leave a Reply

